Thayer Funeral Home was established in 1933 by lifetime Farmington Resident, Howard W. Thayer. Mr. Thayer conducted funerals from 1933-1961 in a two story building that was located east of Farmington Road on Grand River Avenue, in Downtown Farmington.
In 1962, a new facility was constructed one block west of Farmington Road where it stands today. This new location boasted a large private parking area and included many amenities Mr. Thayer was proud to provide to the families he served. He was now confident that his business could flourish in this first class facility.
In 1968, Mr. Thayer hired Robert G. Rock, a local high school student, into his employment. After graduating from Wayne State University in 1977, Robert was made a partner and the business became known as the Thayer-Rock Funeral Home.
Upon Howard Thayer’s untimely death in 1982, Robert became owner of the funeral home.
Paul N. Potti became an associate in 1988, carrying on a long tradition of family funeral service, serving the families he knows from the Finnish and Swedish communities in the area. He had previously owned Memorial Funeral Home in Detroit for many years with his father, Noah A. Potti.
In recent years, Thayer-Rock Funeral Home has updated and remodeled its facilities to include larger visitation rooms, private areas for families, a spacious lounge, and barrier free access throughout. Visitors often comment on the beautiful facilities, both home-like and comfortable, making Thayer-Rock Funeral Home unique to Downtown Farmington